Drug Crime Lawyers Located in Meredith, NH
You Aren’t Your Criminal Charge – We’re Here to Help
At Friedman & Bresaw, we believe a single moment shouldn’t define the rest of a client’s life – especially when that moment involves possession of a controlled substance in Meredith. The state of New Hampshire, however, takes drug possession very seriously – so seriously, in fact, that the likelihood of being charged with a felony is more likely than not.
If you’re arrested for a drug crime in Belknap County, Carroll County, the Lakes Region, or anywhere in the state, having competent legal counsel that cares about countering your charges should be your highest priority. Working with the Meredith criminal defense attorneys at Friedman & Bresaw means building a legal defense with lawyers who won’t judge you for your drug charges regardless of your guilt. Instead, we will work to help you overcome what might be the biggest legal obstacle of your life. We also have the experience with multiple alternative sentencing programs available in Meredith, Belknap, and Carroll Counties that we can leverage to get you the best possible outcome.We’ll stand beside you every step of the way to help you make decisions that can lead you toward a brighter future.
What You Can Face If You’re Caught with Drugs
Penalties for possession of a controlled substance in New Hampshire depend on how the federal Drug Enforcement Agency has classified the substance:
- Any first-time criminal accusations involving Schedule I, II, III, and IV drugs – those the DEA deems most severe – carry the possibility of a Class B felony charge, up to 7 years in prison, and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Second-time criminal accusations involving Schedule I, II, III, and IV drugs following a related prior conviction can mean facing a Class A felony charge, up to 15 years in prison, and up to $50,000 in fines.
- Charges for Schedule V drugs are also felonies and can be punished by imprisonment for up to 3 years and a $15,000 fine.
Marijuana Laws Have Eased but Are Still in Effect
Following the lead of several other states, New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana to a certain degree. While possessing marijuana in Meredith or in Belknap or Carroll Counties with intent to sell is still a felony punishable by 3 to 20 years – depending upon how much marijuana you’re charged with possessing.
Simple possession charges for personal use in Meredith have been significantly downgraded to the following penalties:
- Less than 3/4 of an ounce: The penalty for the first or even second time you’re charged with this is treated like a minor traffic violation. You won’t face jail or prison time or incur a criminal record, but the maximum fine you will face is $100.
- More than 3/4 of an ounce: As a misdemeanor, you could face a year in jail and up to a $2,000 fine for this conviction.
If you are a medical marijuana patient, the state has also eased up on restrictions to your access of medicinal marijuana. As of November 2019, your healthcare provider will no longer need to wait 3 months after beginning a provider-patient relationship with you to submit a written certification to the New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program.
New Hampshire’s marijuana laws are changing, but a simple misunderstanding can land you in serious legal trouble. Call (603) 272-6827 today if you believe you’ve been wrongly charged with a marijuana-related crime.