DUI Crimes Attorney in Meredith, NH
Arrested for a DUI? Call Now For Legal Help!
In New Hampshire, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is more commonly known as driving under the influence (DUI). If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you’re on the hook for an extremely serious criminal charge with life-altering consequences. You may face serious fines and prison time, and you may forever lose your license to drive.
The partners of Friedman & Bresaw can help you avoid or mitigate these penalties if you’ve been arrested for DUI in Meredith, Belknap County, Carroll County, or anywhere in the state of New Hampshire. We’re dedicated to fighting our clients’ charges while treating each person with the compassion and respect they deserve. Just as we know that a drug crime charge does not define you, we equally understand that a DUI charge isn’t who you are. When you trust us with your case, we will endeavor to deliver a defense that ensures you are treated fairly by the legal system.
The Stakes Are High If You DUI
Getting behind the wheel of a car is always a choice – and it can be a choice impaired by the use of drugs or alcohol. You should never attempt to drive if you’re under the influence or intoxicated, but people sometimes make choices while inebriated that they would not make while sober. When that happens, you may get pulled over, evaluated, and arrested for DUI.
If you don’t have adequate legal help, or if the amount of evidence against you is overwhelming, you can face jail time, severe fines, and mandatory education and treatment programs.
You can face the following penalties for each DUI/DWI offense:
- First Offense: You will not face jail time but may lose your license for up to 2 years and pay $500-$1,200 in fines. You will also undergo a substance abuse screening as dictated by the impaired driver care management program.
- Second Offense: You face mandatory jail time and up to 1 year in jail in addition to losing your license for 3 years. You may pay $750 to $2,000 in fines and have an ignition interlock device installed on your car for up to 2 years. You will also undergo a substance abuse assessment as dictated by the impaired driver care management program.
- Third Offense: You face significant mandatory jail time and up to 1 year in jail and an indefinite loss of your license. You may pay $750 to $2,000 in fines, have an ignition interlock device installed on your car for up to 2 years, and be ordered into a residential treatment program.
- Fourth or Subsequent Offenses: As a Class B Felony, you will face up to 7 in prison, $750 or more in fines, and an indefinite loss of your license. You will also have an ignition interlock device installed on your car for up to 2 years and be compelled to undergo any treatment or education courses the court deems appropriate.
Your chance at avoiding or mitigating these penalties begins by seeking competent legal help. Contact us online to find out if our services can match your legal needs.